TYLER, TEXAS—U.S. Congressman Louie Gohmert (TX-01) filed paperwork today to be on the ballot for re-election as Representative from the First District of Texas and issued the following release:

“It has been my promise to east Texans to stand up for Constitutional liberties that have been trampled on by previous administrations. For a number of years now, the battle to protect us from our own government’s improper intrusions has been vicious as has been the name-calling against those of us who have defended our liberties and asserted our moral obligation not to overwhelm future generations with our own debt. Although we have finally begun to make inroads in restoring the best principles and ideals our Founders enshrined in our Constitution, the battle continues. That is why I am filing for re-election as your representative in our nation’s capital. It has been my privilege to stand up and speak up for east Texas common sense values in Washington, D.C. I humbly ask for the support of my east Texas neighbors as we continue to fight for the views that are the mainstream, rank and file opinions in east Texas.”

Due to his mission to seek and speak the truth, Congressman Louie Gohmert has been recognized by other groups in the nation, who have seen the east Texas wisdom that has appeal outside of east Texas, as well, as the recipient of recent, incredibly prestigious awards such as:

Roaring Lambs Hall of Fame, 2017

(Former recipients include: Jay Sekulow, Founder and Chief Counsel of American Center for Law and Justice (ACLJ); Lt. Col. Oliver North, Lieutenant Colonel USMC, War Correspondent; S. Truett Cathy, Founder & Chairman, Chick-fil-A, Philanthropist; Tom Landry, Head Coach, Dallas Cowboys, 1960-1988 etc.)

Endowment for Middle East Truth – Speaker of the Truth Award, 2015

(Previous EMET “Speakers of Truth” award recipients have included U.S. Senators Joseph Lieberman, Daniel Inouye, Jon Kyl, Sam Brownback, and Ted Cruz; Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist, Bret Stephens; Pulitzer Prize-winning syndicated columnist, author, and political commentator, Dr. Charles Krauthammer; former U.S. Ambassador; John Bolton; and Ayaan Hirsi Ali, among many other notables.)

Other awards include: The Club for Growth – Defender of Economic Freedom Award, ACT for America – National Security Eagle Award, National Federation of Independent Business – Guardian of Small Business Award, American Conservative Union – Award for Conservative Excellence, National Association of Manufacturers – Manufacturing Legislative Excellence Award, Vision America – Guardian of the Family Award, Chamber of Commerce –Spirit of Enterprise Award …etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This field is required.

This field is required.